Let’s build Champions

February 15, 2017

Dear Friends of Prairie View A&M University You have kept us going!

The Panther Backers thank you for your continued support of the Annual Prairie View A&M University Celebrity Golf Classic fundraiser. Panther Backers, a booster club, is a tax-deductible organization comprised of former athletes, dedicated alumni, and friends, founded in 1995 to support athletics at Prairie View A&M University through fundraisers such as the Golf Classic and soliciting for donations.

The Panther Backers members will dedicate this years 22nd annual Golf Classic in memory of Richard”Rick” Johnson, past member of the Panther Backers. Last year your contributions to the 21th annual Golf Classic helped the Panther Backers endownment fund get closer to our goal of a Million dollars.

The Panther Backers focus on scholarships is still a priority. Through consistent support from former athletes, dedicated alumni, donors and friends of the Panther Backers have provided scholarship funds for several young men and women atheletes at Prairie View for the past 22 years.

The 22nd Annual Celebrity Golf Classic is scheduled for Monday, May 15,2017. It will be held at Cypress Lake Golf Club, 18700 Cypresswood Dr., Cypress, Texas, 77429, (281) 304-8515 phone and (281) 304-0032-fax. Tournament details are provided in the enclosed brochure.

Please remember…the need is real and it is great. We appreciate your help in making this year’s event another success. Please complete and mail the enclosed registration form today and join us in the ever continuing drive to support the university in its global commitment to excellence in education, research, and service to its student body.

For additional information, please contact Albert “ Deno”Robertson at (713) 417-2090, or Wanda Bookman at (281) 748-5690 Sincerely, Wanda Bookman Golf Tournament Chairperson Chairperson of the Panther Backers.


  Deno Robertson                                                                                      Wanda Bookman

Golf Tournament Chairperson                                                                     Chairperson of the Panther Backers